SCHOOL DISTRICT OF JOHNSON CREEK Special Board of Education Meeting Reorganizational Meeting Minutes Monday, April 26, 2021 6:00 p.m. Weis Center

Richard Wrensch called the meeting to order

Members Present: Duane Draeger, June Kolaske, Janelle Kwarciany, Mark Siewert, and Richard Wrensch

Member Excused: Ken Johnson and 1 vacancy

Also Present: Superintendent Michael Garvey

Dr. Garvey verified that the meeting was properly posted Pursuant to § 19.84(1) Wis. Statutes

Motion by Draeger/Siewert to adopt the agenda as posted. Motion Carried.

Mr. Wrensch asked Dr. Garvey to conduct the elections for the Board Officers.

Nominations for **President** were accepted from the floor.

Nomination of Rick Wrensch for President by Draeger/Siewert. Mr. Wrensch accepted the nomination.

There were no other nominations

Motion by Kwarciany/Kolaske to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Rick Wrensch for President. Motion Carried.

Vice President nominations were accepted.

Nomination of Mark Siewert for Vice President by Wrensch/Kolaske. Mr. Siewert accepted the nomination.

There were no other nominations for Vice-President.

Motion by Wrensch/Draeger to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Mark Siewert for Vice President. Motion Carried.

Clerk nominations were accepted.

Nomination of Janelle Kwarciany for Clerk by Kolaske /Draeger. Mrs. Kwarciany accepted the nomination.

Nomination of Ken Johnson for Clerk by Siewert/Wrensch. Mr. Johnson declined the nomination (per instructions given to Dr. Garvey).

There were no other nominations for Clerk.

Motion by Draeger/Wrensch to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Janelle Kwarciany for Clerk. Motion Carried.

Treasurer nominations were accepted:

Nomination of Duane Draeger for Treasurer by Wrensch/Siewert. Mr. Draeger accepted the nomination.

There were no other nominations.

Motion by Kwarciany/Draeger to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Duane Draeger for Treasurer. Motion Carried.

2021-22 Designations

Motion by Siewert/Kwarciany to designate Badger Bank as the District's Official Depository for general/payroll accounts. Motion Carried.

Motion by Draeger/Kwarciany to designate Larry Steen as the District's Official Legal Counsel. Motion Carried.

Motion by Draeger/Siewert to designate the third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m. as the District's Regular Board meeting time. Motion Carried.

Motion by Kwarciany/Siewert to designate *The Watertown Daily Times* as the District's Official newspaper. Motion Carried.

2021-22 Selections

Motion by Draeger to select Kolaske as the District's WASB delegate and Kwarciany as the District's alternate selection. Prior to a second to Draeger's motion, Mrs. Kolaske declined the appointment stating that the other Board members should attend the convention. Kwarciany accepted the alternate delegate position and the Board will appoint a delegate later in the year.

Motion by Siewert/Kwarciany to select Duane Draeger as the District's CESA #2 delegate. Motion Carried.

A Village Liaison was not selected.

Motion by Siewert/Draeger to select Janelle Kwarciany as the District's Johnson Creek Education Foundation Committee Representative. Motion Carried.

Motion by Draeger/Siewert to select Ken Johnson and Rick Wrensch as the Joint recreation Committee Members. Motion Carried.

The Board discussed staff appreciation gifts. Motion by Draeger/Kwarciany to present all staff a \$50 Kwik Trip gift card purchased from the Friends of our School. Motion Carried. Mrs. Kolaske requested that the Board members all sign a letter of appreciation which would accompany the gift card. Dr. Garvey will organize the letter and distribution of the gifts.

Motion by Draeger/Siewert to Adjourn. Motion Carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael P. Garvey, Ph.D. Superintendent